Money in Ljubljana


As of 1.1.2007 the Euro became the official currency in Slovenia, for both cash and non-cash transactions.

Non-cash payment with credit or debit cards is possible everywhere through POS terminals. Cards accepted for payment are MasterCard, Maestro, Visa, Visa Electron, Amex and Diners (depends on the sales outlet and the contract it has) and local cards Activa and Karanta.

You can also withdraw cash at automatic teller machines of different banks which are located across the whole country. Cash withdrawal is possible mainly with MasterCard and Visa cards. Withdrawals can also be made using Maestro, Cirrus and Visa Electron Plus, where indicated by stickers on individual automated teller machines.

At banks, visitors to Slovenia can exchange money and cash traveller’s cheques, open bank accounts, deposit cash and conduct other non-cash business. Banks are open during the week between 9:00 and 12:00 and 14:00 and 17:00, and some on Saturdays between 9:00 and 12:00.

Money can also be exchanged in exchange offices, at hotel reception desks, tourist agencies, petrol stations and larger supermarkets.